Skip to content

Milestones

  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 39
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival
  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

Amazonas

Launch Date: 
August 5, 2004
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: Hispasat and Hispamar
  • Satellite Manufacturer: EADS Astrium
  • Purpose: Broadcast, Broadband and Internet Services
  • Platform: Eurostar E3000
  • Separated Mass: 4540 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 15+ years

Highlights

  • 3rd ILS launch for Hispasat
  • 3rd launch of an EADS Astrium-built satellite in 2004
  • 30th ILS Proton launch
  • 308th Proton launch

Latest News

ILS Proton Successfully Launches Amazonas Satellite

Launch Resources

  • Mission Overview
  • Media Advisory

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • The Proton Breeze M lifted off at 4:32 a.m. from Baikonur on Aug 5, (Aug 4: 18:32 EDT, 22:32 GMT).
  • Nominal separation took place at 1:43 p.m. local time on Aug 5, (03:43 EDT, 07:43 GMT).
  • Separation of the Amazonas satellite occured approximately 9 hours and 11 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 3200 km x 35,786 km x 9.1 degrees.
Amazonas Mission

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin