Skip to content

Milestones

  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 39
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival
  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

AMC-23

Launch Date: 
December 29, 2005
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: SES AMERICOM
  • Satellite Manufacturer: Alcatel Alenia Space
  • Purpose: Commerical and Government Services
  • Platform: Spacebus-4000C3
  • Separated Mass: 4981 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 16 years

Highlights

  • 11th ILS launch for SES AMERICOM fleet
  • 4th ILS Proton launch of 2005
  • 317th Proton launch

Latest News

Successful Proton Launch of AMC-23 for Alcatel Alenia Space

Launch Resources

  • Mission Overview
  • Media Advisory

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • The Proton launcher lifted off at 8:28 a.m. Dec 29, at the Baikonur space center (Dec 28: 21:28 EST, Dec 29: 02:28 GMT).
  • Nominal separation occured at 5:48 p.m. local time on Dec. 29 (06:48 EST, 11:48 GMT)
  • Separation of the AMC-23 satellite occured approximately 9 hours and 19 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 6400 km x 35,786 km x 18.3 degrees.
AMC-23 Mission

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin