Skip to content

Milestones


  • SC Separation

  • Fourth Burn

  • APT Jettison

  • Third Burn

  • Second Burn

  • First Burn

  • Stage Separations

  • Liftoff

  • Rollout to Pad 39

  • Breeze M Fueling

  • Begin Joint Operations

  • SC Fuel Loading

  • Breeze M Arrival

  • SC/GSE Arrival

  • Proton Arrival

  • Early Team Arrival

  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

AsiaSat 5

Launch Date: 
August 12, 2009
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: Asia Satellite Telecommunications Co. Ltd. (AsiaSat)
  • Satellite Manufacturer: Space Systems/ Loral
  • Purpose: Broadband Multimedia Services
  • Platform: 1300 Spacecraft Bus
  • Separated Mass: 3760 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 15 years

Highlights

  • 6th Proton Launch of 2009
  • 4th ILS Proton of 2009
  • 53rd Proton Launch for ILS
  • 4th AsiaSat Satellite Launched by ILS
  • 12th Space Systems/Loral Satellite Launched on a Proton

Latest News

ILS Proton Successfully Launches AsiaSat 5 Satellite

Launch Resources

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • Liftoff occurred in Baikonur on August 12, at 01:47 local time (Aug 11, 15:47 EDT, Aug 11, 19:47 GMT).
  • Nominal separation took place at 11:02, August 12 local time (01:02 EDT, 05:02 GMT).
  • Separation of the AsiaSat 5 satellite occured approximately 9 hours, 15 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 17,950 km x 35,786 km x 6.0 deg

AsiaSat 5 Blog

AsiaSat 5 Mission

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin