Skip to content

Milestones

  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 39
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival
  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

ASTRA 1M

Launch Date: 
November 6, 2008
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: SES ASTRA
  • Satellite Manufacturer: EADS Astrium
  • Purpose: HDTV
  • Platform: Eurostar E3000
  • Separated Mass: 5320 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 15 years

Highlights

  • 5th ILS Launch of 2008
  • 48th Proton Launch for ILS
  • 7th ILS Proton Launch for SES ASTRA
  • 11th Eurostar Satellite Launched on Proton

Latest News

ILS Proton Successfully Launches ASTRA 1M Satellite

Launch Resources

  • Mission Overview
  • Media Advisory
  • Live Broadcast

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • Liftoff occurred in Baikonur on November 6, at 2:44 am local time (Nov. 5, 15:44 EST, 20:44 GMT).
  • Nominal separation took place at 11:56 a.m. local time (Nov. 6, 00:56 EST, 05:56 GMT).
  • Separation of the ASTRA 1M satellite occured approximately 9 hours, 12 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 4980 km x 35786 km x 21.5 deg
     

ASTRA 1M Blog

RSS
November 6, 2008 Success!
November 6, 2008 3rd and 4th Burns Completed
ASTRA 1M Mission

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin