Skip to content

SES-3 Mission Success

July 16, 2011 5:29 am (GMT)
ILS Communications Team

We have had a successful mission with the ILS Proton Rocket carrying the SES-3 satellite built by Orbital Sciences Corporation and the KazSat-2 satellite built by Khrunichev State Research and Production Space Center. We have had confirmation that the SES-3 satellite separated from the vehicle on schedule at 3:17 a.m. EDT, or 07:17 GMT, 8 hours and 01 minute after liftoff and subsequently the KazSat-2 satellite separated at 4:46 a.m. EDT or 8:46 GMT.

Everything occurred as planned with ignition, shutdown and separation of the Proton’s first three stages. Then the Breeze M upper stage with the satellite continued the mission, igniting a total of six times, and releasing the satellites into their respective orbits.

This was the first Shared ILS Proton Rocket Launch.
 

SES-3 Blog

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin