Skip to content

Milestones

  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 39
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival
  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

Ciel II

Launch Date: 
December 10, 2008
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: Ciel and EchoStar
  • Satellite Manufacturer: Thales Alenia Space
  • Purpose: Various Services
  • Platform: Spacebus 4000 C4
  • Separated Mass: 5561 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 16 years

Highlights

  • 49th Proton Launch for ILS
  • „„3rd Spacebus 4000 Launched on a Proton
  • 1st Dedicated Satellite for the Ciel Satellite Group

Latest News

ILS Proton Successfully Launches Ciel II Satellite

Launch Resources

  • Mission Overview
  • Media Advisory
  • Live Broadcast

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • Liftoff occurred in Baikonur on December 10, at 19:43 local time (Dec. 10, 08:43 EST, 13:43 GMT).
  • Nominal separation took place at Dec. 11, 04:55 local time (Dec. 10, 17:55 EST, 22:55 GMT).
  • Separation of the Ciel II satellite occured approximately 9 hours, 12 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 5597 km x 35603 km x 19.5 deg
     

Ciel II Blog

RSS
December 10, 2008 Successful Mission!
December 10, 2008 Down to the last burn
December 10, 2008 2nd Burn
Ciel II Mission

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin