Skip to content

Milestones


  • SC Separation

  • Fifth Burn

  • Fourth Burn

  • APT Jettison

  • Third Burn

  • Second Burn

  • First Burn

  • Stage Separations

  • Liftoff

  • Rollout to Pad 39

  • Breeze M Fueling

  • Begin Joint Operations

  • SC Fuel Loading

  • Breeze M Arrival

  • SC/GSE Arrival

  • Proton Arrival

  • Early Team Arrival

  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

DIRECTV 12

Launch Date: 
December 29, 2009
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: DIRECTV
  • Satellite Manufacturer: Boeing Space & Intelligence Systems
  • Purpose: HDTV
  • Platform: 702
  • Separated Mass: 5900 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 15 years

Highlights

  • 7th ILS Proton Launch in 2009
  • 56th ILS Proton Launch
  • 4th DIRECTV Satellite Launched with ILS Proton
  • 13th Boeing Satellite Launched on a Proton

Latest News

ILS Proton Successfully Launches DIRECTV 12 Satellite for DIRECTV;7th ILS PROTON MISSION OF 2009

Launch Resources

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • Liftoff occurred in Baikonur on December 29, at 06:22 local time (Dec 28, 19:22 EST, 00:22 GMT).
  • Nominal separation took place on December 29, at 15:32 , local time (04:32 EST, 09:32 GMT).
  • Separation of the EchoStar XIV satellite occured approximately 9 hours, 10 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 5,120 km x 35,786 km x 20.7 deg

DIRECTV 12 Blog

DIRECTV 12 Mission

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin