Skip to content

Milestones

  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 39
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival
  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

DIRECTV 8

Launch Date: 
May 22, 2005
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: DIRECTV
  • Satellite Manufacturer: Space Systems/ Loral
  • Purpose: Direct-to-Home
  • Platform: FS-1300
  • Separated Mass: 3711 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 12 years

Highlights

  • 2nd ILS launch for DIRECTV on Proton
  • 16th ILS launch of a Space Systems/Loral built satellite
  • 2nd ILS Proton launch of 2005
  • 313th Proton launch

Latest News

ILS Proton Successfully Launches Satellite for DIRECTV 8

Launch Resources

  • Mission Overview
  • Media Advisory

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • The liftoff of the ILS Proton Breeze M with DIRECTV 8 occurred successfully 11:59 p.m. local time on May 22, (13:59 EDT, 17:59 GMT) as scheduled.
  • Nominal separation of the satellite occurred at 9:14 a.m. local time, May 23, (May 22, 23:14 EDT, May 23, 03:14 GMT)
  • Separation of the DIRECTV 8 satellite occured approximately 9 hours and 15 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 15130 km x 35,786 km x 7.9 degrees.
DIRECTV 8 Mission

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin