Skip to content

Milestones

  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 39
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival
  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

EchoStar VIII

Launch Date: 
August 22, 2002
BKR

Vehicle: Proton K/ Block DM

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: EchoStar
  • End User: Dish Network
  • Satellite Manufacturer: Space Systems/ Loral
  • Purpose: Direct-to-Home Services
  • Platform: SS/L 1300
  • Separated Mass: 4660 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 15 years

Highlights

  • 3rd ILS Proton Launch in 2002
  • 2nd ILS Launch for EchoStar in 4 Months
  • 5th ILS Launch in 2002
  • 24th Commercial Proton Flight for ILS Since 1995

Latest News

ILS Proton Successfully Launches EchoStar VIII Satellite

Launch Resources

  • Mission Overview
  • Media Advisory

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • The Proton K/Block DM rocket lifted off 22 August, at 11:15 a.m. local time (1:15 a.m. EDT, 5:15 GMT)
  • Nominal separation took place at 17:51, local time (07:51 EDT, 11:51 GMT).
  • Separation of the EchoStar VIII satellite occured approximately 6 hours, 36 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 4300 km x 35,786 km x 23.0 deg
EchoStar VIII Poster drupal.jpg

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin