Skip to content

Milestones

 

  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 39
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival
  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

HOT BIRD 8

Launch Date: 
August 4, 2006
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: Eutelsat
  • Satellite Manufacturer: EADS Astrium
  • Purpose: Television, Radio and Interactive Services
  • Platform: Eurostar 3000
  • Separated Mass: 4875 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 15 years

Highlights

  • 8th Eutelsat Launch on an ILS Vehicle
  • 2nd ILS Proton in 2006
  • 321st Proton Launch

Latest News

Successful Return to Flight for Proton Carrying HOT BIRD 8

Launch Resources

  • Mission Overview
  • Media Advisory

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • Liftoff occurred at the beginning of the launch window, August 5, at 3:48 a.m. local  time (Aug. 4: 17:48 EDT, 21:48 GMT)
  • Nominal separation took place at 12:59 p.m. local time on Aug. 5 (02:59 EDT, 06:59 GMT)
  • Separation of the HotBird 8 satellite occured approximately 9 hours and 11 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 3800 km x 35,786 km x 13.0 degrees.
HOT BIRD 8 Mission

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin