Skip to content

Milestones

  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 39
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival
  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

KA-SAT

Launch Date: 
December 27, 2010
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: Eutelsat
  • Satellite Manufacturer: EADS Astrium
  • Purpose: Broadband Services
  • Platform: Eurostar E3000
  • Separated Mass: 6150 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 15 years

Highlights

  • 12th Proton Launch in 2010
  • 8th ILS Proton Launch in 2010
  • 64th ILS Proton Launch Overall
  • 6th Eutelsat Satellite Launched on Proton
  • 13th EuroStar Satellite Launched on ILS Proton

Latest News

ILS Proton Successfully Launches the KA-SAT Satellite for Eutelsat; Marks a Record of 8 Commercial Missions in 2010 for ILS.

Launch Resources

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • Liftoff occurred in Baikonur on 27 December, 3:51 a.m. local time (4:51 p.m. EST, 10:51 p.m. in Paris on December 26)
  • Nominal separation took place on 27 December, at  13:03, local time (02:03 EST,  08:03 Paris Time).
  • Separation of the KA-SAT satellite occurred approx. 9 hours, 12 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 3,713 km x 35,786 km x 24.6 deg.

KA-SAT Blog

KASAT Poster Web.jpg

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin