Skip to content

Milestones

  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 39
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival
  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

NIMIQ 2

Launch Date: 
December 30, 2002
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: Telesat Canada
  • Satellite Manufacturer: Lockheed Martin Commercial Space Systems
  • Purpose: Broadcast Services
  • Platform: A2100AX
  • Separated Mass: 3600 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 12 years

Highlights

  • 2nd Flight of the Khrunichev-Built Proton M/ Breeze M
  • 10th ILS Launch of 2002
  • 2nd ILS Proton Launch of Telesat Canada
  • 27th Commercial Proton Launch for ILS

Latest News

ILS Proton Successfully Launches Nimiq 2 for Lockheed Martin, Telesat Canada

Launch Resources

  • Mission Overview
  • Media Advisory

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • The Proton vehicle lifted off on 30 December at 4:17 a.m. local time (29 December 6:17 p.m. EST, 23:17  GMT).
  • Nominal Separation took place at 11:10 p.m local time, 30 December (01:10 EST, 06:10 GMT)
  • Separation of the NIMIQ 2 satellite occured approximately 6 hours and 53 minutes after liftoff.
NIMIQ 2 poster drupal.jpg

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin