Skip to content

Milestones


  • SC Separation

  • Fifth Burn

  • Fourth Burn

  • APT Jettison

  • Third Burn

  • Second Burn

  • First Burn

  • Stage Separations

  • Liftoff

  • Rollout to Pad 39

  • Breeze M Fueling

  • Begin Joint Operations

  • SC Fuel Loading

  • Breeze M Arrival

  • SC/GSE Arrival

  • Proton Arrival

  • Early Team Arrival

  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

Nimiq 5

Launch Date: 
September 18, 2009
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: Telesat
  • Satellite Manufacturer: Space Systems/ Loral
  • Purpose: Direct-to-Home Services
  • Platform: 1300 Spacecraft Bus
  • Separated Mass: 4745 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 15 years

Highlights

  • 7th Proton Launch of 2009
  • 5th ILS Proton of 2009
  • 54th Proton Launch for ILS
  • 6th Telesat satellite launch with ILS Proton
  • 13th Space Systems/Loral Satellite Launched on a Proton

Latest News

ILS Proton Successfully Launches Nimiq 5 Satellite

Launch Resources

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • Liftoff occurred in Baikonur on September 18, at 01:19 local time (Sept. 17, 15:19 EDT, 19:19 GMT).
  • Nominal separation took place at 10:34, September 18 local time (00:34 EDT, 04:34 GMT).
  • Separation of the Nimiq 5 satellite occured approximately 9 hours, 15 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 9,490 km x 35,786 km x 13.0 deg

Nimiq 5 Blog

Nimiq 5 Mission

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin