Skip to content

Milestones

  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 39
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival
  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

SIRIUS FM-5

Launch Date: 
July 1, 2009
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: SIRIUS XM Radio
  • Satellite Manufacturer: Space Systems/Loral
  • Purpose: Direct Radio Broadcasting
  • Platform: LS-1300
  • Separated Mass: 5820 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 15 years

Highlights

  • 6th Proton Launch of 2009
  • 4th ILS Proton of 2009
  • 53rd Proton Launch for ILS
  • 4th AsiaSat Satellite Launched by ILS
  • 12th Space Systems/Loral Satellite Launched on a Proton

Latest News

ILS Proton Successfully Launches SIRIUS FM-5 Satellite

Launch Resources

  • Mission Overview
  • Media Advisory
  • Live Broadcast

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • Liftoff occurred in Baikonur on July 01, at 01:10 local time (June 30, 15:10 EDT, June 30, 19:10 GMT).
  • Nominal separation took place at 10:24, July 01 local time (00:24 EDT, 04:24 GMT).
  • Separation of the SIRIUS FM-5 satellite occured approximately 9 hours, 14 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 4,207km x 35,786 km x 22.9 deg
SIRIUS FM-5 Mission

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin