Skip to content

Milestones

  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 39
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival
  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

THOR 5

Launch Date: 
February 11, 2008
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: Telenor
  • Satellite Manufacturer: Orbital Sciences Corporation
  • Purpose: Broadcast and Interactive Services
  • Platform: STAR-2
  • Separated Mass: 1960 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 15 yrs

Highlights

  • 1st Orbital spacecraft Launched by Proton
  • 1st ILS Launch of 2008
  • 44th launch for ILS Joint Venture

Latest News

ILS Proton Successfully Launches THOR-5 Satellite

Launch Resources

  • Mission Overview
  • Media Advisory
  • Live Broadcast

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • Liftoff occurred in Baikonur on February 11 at 5:34 p.m. local time (06:34 EST, 11:34 GMT).
  • Nominal separation took place on February 12 at 2:57 a.m. local time (February 11: 15:57 EST, 20:57 GMT).
  • Separation of the THOR-5 satellite occured approximately 9 hours, 23 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 496 km x 36821.4 km x 49.1 deg
     
 

Thor 5 Blog

RSS
February 24, 2008 Mission Accomplished
February 24, 2008 Third Burn is Done
February 24, 2008 Second Burn Complete
Thor 5 Mission

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin