Skip to content

Milestones

  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 39
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival
  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

W2A

Launch Date: 
April 3, 2009
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: Eutelsat Communications
  • Satellite Manufacturer: Thales Alenia Space
  • Purpose: Video and Data broadcast Services, Mobile Broadcast Services
  • Platform: Spacebus 4000 C4
  • Separated Mass: 5900 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 15 years

Highlights

  • 50th Proton Launch for ILS
  • 4th Proton Launch for Eutelsat
  • „„4th Spacebus 4000 Launched on a Proton
  • 1st S-band Satellite for Europe

Latest News

ILS Proton Successfully Launches W2A Satellite

Launch Resources

  • Mission Overview
  • Media Advisory
  • Live Broadcast

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • Liftoff occurred in Baikonur on April 03, at 22:24 local time (April 03, 12:24 EDT, 16:24 GMT).
  • Nominal separation took place at 07:35, April 04, local time (April 03, 21:35 EDT, April 04: 01:35 GMT).
  • Separation of the W2A satellite occured approximately 9 hours, 10 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 5010 km x 35596 km x 20.7 deg
     
W2A Mission

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin