Skip to content

Milestones

  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 39
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival
  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

W3A

Launch Date: 
March 16, 2004
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: Eutelsat
  • Satellite Manufacturer: EADS Astrium
  • Purpose: Various Services including Distance Learning, Telemedicine and Internet
  • Platform: Eurostar E3000
  • Separated Mass: 4250 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 15+ years

Highlights

  • 7th ILS launch for Eutelsat
  • 28th ILS Proton launch
  • 304th Proton launch

Latest News

ILS Successfully Launches W3A Satellite

Launch Resources

  • Mission Overview
  • Media Advisory

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • The Proton vehicle lifted off at 4:06 a.m. local time on March 16 (March 15: 18:06 EST, 23:06 GMT).
  • The Breeze M's engine underwent five burns to place the W3A satellite into a geosynchronous transfer orbit at 1:16 p.m. Baikonur time, March 16 (03:16 EST, 08:16 GMT).
  • Separation of the W3A satellite occured approximately 9 hours and 10 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 3978 km x 35,786 km x 13.0 degrees.
W3A Mission

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin