Skip to content

Milestones

  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 24
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
 
  • Milestones in progress
  • Milestones completed

XM-5

Launch Date: 
October 15, 2010
BKR

Vehicle: Proton M/ Breeze M

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: SIRIUS XM Radio
  • Satellite Manufacturer: Space Systems/Loral
  • Purpose: Direct Radio Broadcasting
  • Platform: SS/L 1300
  • Separated Mass: 5984 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 15 years

Highlights

  • 9th Proton Launch in 2010
  • 6th ILS Proton Launch in 2010
  • 62nd Proton Launch for ILS
  • 5th SIRIUS XM Satellite Launched on an ILS Proton
  • 16th Space Systems/Loral Satellite Launched on an ILS Proton

Latest News

ILS Proton Successfully Launches XM-5 Satellite

Launch Resources

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • Liftoff occurred in Baikonur on 15 Oct., at 00:53 local time (14 Oct., 18:53 UTC, 14:53 EDT).
  • Nominal separation took place on 15 Oct., at  10:05, local time (04:05 UTC, 00:05 EDT).
  • Separation of the XM-5 satellite occurred approximately 9 hours, 12 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 4235 km x 35,786 km x 22.84 deg.

XM-5 Blog

SIRIUS XM-5 Mission

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin