Skip to content

Media Advisory | ILS Proton to Launch EchoStar XVI

Reston, VA  -  November 16, 2012

Payload:
EchoStar XVI communications satellite
SS/L 1300 Platform
Separated Spacecraft Mass:  6,683 kg

Launch Vehicle:                   
Proton M/Breeze M
705,000 kg (1,554,000 lbs), including payload
58.2 m (191 ft)

Launch Date:                        
November 21, 2012

Launch Time:                       
00:31 Baikonur, November 21
11:31 Englewood, November 20
10:31 Palo Alto, November 20
18:31 GMT, November 20
13:31 EST, November 20

Launch Site:                         
Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan
Launch Pad 39

Launch Customer:               
EchoStar, Englewood, Colorado

Satellite Manufacturer:       
Space Systems/Loral, Palo Alto, California

Launch Vehicle Manufacturer:
Khrunichev State Research and Production Space Center, Moscow

Launch Services Provider:                  
International Launch Services, Reston, Va

Satellite Use:                        
EchoStar XVI will join EchoStar’s fleet of satellites that power global communication, commerce and entertainment. Operated by EchoStar, EchoStar XVI will be fully leased to DISH for use in its Direct-to-Home (DTH) services in the United States. An all Ku-band satellite with CONUS and spot beam transponders, EchoStar XVI will utilize SS/L’s flight-proven 1300 spacecraft bus and be located at 61.5° west longitude. EchoStar XVI will further enhance EchoStar’s position as the premier global provider of satellite operations and video delivery solutions.

Satellite Statistics:              
__36 Ku-band transponders
__Planned orbital location: 61.5 west longitude
__Anticipated service life: 15 years

Mission Profile:                    
The Proton M launch vehicle, utilizing a 5-burn Breeze M mission design, will lift off from Pad 39 at Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, with the EchoStar XVI satellite on board. The first three stages of the Proton will use a standard ascent profile to place the orbital unit (Breeze M upper stage and the EchoStar XVI satellite) into a sub-orbital trajectory. From this point in the mission, the Breeze M will perform planned mission maneuvers to advance the orbital unit first to a circular parking orbit, then to an intermediate orbit, followed by a transfer orbit, and finally to a geostationary transfer orbit. Separation of the EchoStar XVI satellite is scheduled to occur approximately 9 hours, 12 minutes after liftoff.
                                                           
Target Orbit at Separation:                             
Perigee: 2,434 km
Apogee: 35,786 km
Inclination: 29.5 degrees

Spacecraft Separation:      
Approximately 9 hours, 12 minutes after liftoff

ILS Mission Statistics:        
_7th ILS Proton Launch in 2012
_76th ILS Proton Launch Overall
_5th EchoStar Satellite Launched on ILS Proton
_24th Space Systems/Loral Satellite Launched on ILS Proton

Live Broadcast/Webcast:
Live Coverage starting at 13:15 EST/ 18:15 GMT.
Launch is scheduled for 13:31 EST/ 18:31 GMT.
Broadcast concludes no later than 14:15 EST/ 19:15 GMT.

Webcast can be seen at:  http://echostarxvi.imgondemand.com

And via Satellite TODAY: http://www.satellitetoday.com/

SD test for Baikonur and Europe/ Eutelsat 10A will begin at 12:45 EST/ 1745 GMT
HD test for US/ AMC-9 will begin at 12:45 EST
Baikonur to US SD signal starts at 12:15 Eastern/17:15 GMT

In the US, the Launch Broadcast will be seen on the following in HD:
AMC-9, transponder C10, channel C10A
83 degrees West
18 mhz.
Uplink Frequency – 6,116.000 Horizontal
Downlink Frequency – 3,891.000 Vertical
1080i QPSK
FEC:  3/4
Symbol rate:  13.333, DVB – S, MPEG2 HD 4:2:0

In Baikonur and Europe, the Launch Broadcast will be seen on the following in SD:
EUTELSAT 10A (EX W2A) 10 deg East TXP B2 CHANNEL 6MHZ SLOT 2K6
Uplink Frequency: 14306.67 MHZ POL X BY D-FRA-022  UP1
Downlink Frequency: 11006.67 MHZ POL Y
SD 625 16:9 50Hz DVBS2 8PSK 4.9373Ms/s FEC 3/4,
P  RoF 0.2  (11_SD MPEG2 422 10.7514 Mbps)
AUDIO:1     SOUND MONO
AUDIO:2     SOUND MONO

More Information:                
Live streaming will begin approximately 15 minutes before liftoff.  General mission information and launch status updates are available at www.ilslaunch.com. You can also follow us on Twitter and “like” us on Facebook for mission updates.

 

 

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin