Skip to content

Media Advisory: ILS Proton to Launch EUTELSAT 3D

 
Reston, VA – May 7, 2013

Payload:
EUTELSAT 3D communications satellite
Spacebus 4000 Platform
Separated spacecraft mass: 5,470 kg

Launch Vehicle:    
Proton M/Breeze M
705,000 kg (1,554,000 lbs), including payload
58.2 m (191ft)

Launch Date:    
May 14, 2013

Launch Time:    
22:02:00 Baikonur
20:02:00 Moscow
18:02:00 Paris
16:02:00 GMT
12:02:00 EDT

Launch Site:    
Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan
Launch Pad 39

Launch Customer:    
Eutelsat Communications, Paris, France

Satellite Manufacturer:    
Thales Alenia Space, Cannes, France

Launch Vehicle Manufacturer:    
Khrunichev State Research and Production Space Center,
Moscow, Russia

Launch Services Provider:
International Launch Services, Virginia, USA

Satellite Use:    
EUTELSAT 3D will bring resources, reach and flexibility for high-growth professional video, data, telecom and broadband services at 3° east, an orbital position that sits at the crossroads of Europe, Africa and Asia. Through a configuration of Ku and Ka transponders connected to three footprints, Eutelsat’s new satellite will serve customers in Europe, North Africa, the Middle East and Central Asia. A fourth footprint in the Ku-band will serve customers in sub-Saharan Africa. EUTELSAT 3D will be located at 3° east until the launch in 2014 of EUTELSAT 3B that will further extend coverage to South America. It will subsequently continue service at 7° east.

Satellite Statistics:    
__56 Ku and Ka-band transponders
__Planned initial orbital location: 3° east longitude
__Anticipated service life: 15 years

Mission Profile:    
The Proton M launch vehicle, utilizing a 5-burn Breeze M mission design, will lift off from Pad 39 at Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, with the EUTELSAT 3D satellite on board. The first three stages of the Proton will use a standard ascent profile to place the orbital unit (Breeze M upper stage and the EUTELSAT 3D satellite) into a sub-orbital trajectory. From this point in the mission, the Breeze M will perform planned mission maneuvers to advance the orbital unit first to a circular parking orbit, then to an intermediate orbit, followed by a transfer orbit, and finally to a geosynchronous transfer orbit. Separation of the EUTELSAT 3D satellite is scheduled to occur approximately 9 hours, 13 minutes after liftoff.

Target Orbit at Separation:    
Perigee 6,775 km
Apogee: 35,696 km
Inclination: 17.5 degrees

Spacecraft Separation:    
Approximately 9 hours, 13 minutes after liftoff

ILS Mission Statistics:    
_3rd ILS Proton Launch in 2013
_80th ILS Proton Launch Overall
_7th Eutelsat Satellite Launched on Proton
_9th Thales Alenia Space Satellite Launched on ILS Proton

Live Broadcast:
Live Coverage starting at 11:45 EDT/ 15:45 GMT
Launch is scheduled for 12:02 EDT/ 16:02 GMT
Broadcast concludes no later than 12:45 EDT/ 16:45 GMT

Webcast stream seen can be seen at:   
http://eutelsat3d.imgondemand.com/

Via Satellite Today at:
http://www.satellitetoday.com

Satellite Test Signals:
HD test for US/AMC-9 will begin at 11:15 EDT
Live test for Europe/Eutelsat/Baikonur will begin at 11:15 EDT/15:15 GMT
 
In Baikonur and Europe, the Launch Broadcast will be seen on the following (HD):

EBU REF 13/032766/01 amendment 01
EUTELSAT 10A (EX W2A) 10 deg East TXP B4 Channel 12MHZ SLOT 4G12
Uplink Frequency: 14381 MHZ POL X BY D-FRA-022  UP3 (ASI
ONLY)  EU10A
Downlink Frequency: 11081 MHZ POL Y
HD 1080i 50Hz DVBS2 8PSK 9.875Ms/s FEC 3/4,
P RoF 0.2 (MPEG4/H.264 420 21.503 Mbps)
AUDIO:1 SOUND MONO
AUDIO:2 SOUND MONO

In the US, the Launch Broadcast will be seen on the following (HD):
AMC-9, transponder C10, channel C10B
83 degrees West
18 mhz.
Uplink Frequency: 6,134.000 / Horizontal
Downlink frequency: 3,909.000 / Vertical
1080i QPSK
FEC:  3/4
Symbol rate: 13.333, DVB – S, MPEG2 HD 4:2:0

More Information:       
Live streaming will begin approximately 15 minutes before liftoff.  General mission information and launch status updates are available at www.ilslaunch.com. You can also follow us on Twitter and “like” us on Facebook for mission updates.
    
 

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin