Skip to content

MEDIA ADVISORY: ILS PROTON TO LAUNCH EUTELSAT 9B

Payload:
EUTELSAT 9B Satellite
Eurostar E3000
Separated spacecraft mass: 5162 kg
 
Launch Vehicle:                
Proton M/Breeze M
705,000 kg (1,554,000 lb), including payload
58.2 m (191ft)
 
Launch Date:
January 30, 2016
 
Launch Time:
04:20:09 Baikonur
01:20:09  Moscow
23:20:09  Paris, January 29, 2016
22:20:09 GMT, January 29, 2016
17:20:09 ET, January 29, 2016
 
Launch Site:                       
Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan
Launch Pad 39
 
Launch Customer:
Eutelsat, Paris, France
 
Satellite Manufacturer:
Airbus Defence and Space
 
Launch Vehicle Manufacturer:
Khrunichev State Research and Production Space Center,
Moscow, Russia
 
Launch Services               
Provider:      
International Launch Services, Virginia, USA
 
Satellite Use:                      
EUTELSAT 9B is a high-capacity Ku-band satellite that will take Eutelsat’s 9° East position to a new level of performance. Capacity will be spread across five footprints, with frequency reuse optimising overall bandwidth. EUTELSAT 9B will address high-growth digital TV markets through one pan-European footprint delivering wide coverage and four regional footprints. EUTELSAT 9B also hosts the first data relay payload for the European Data Relay System (EDRS) being implemented through a Public Private Partnership (PPP) between ESA and Airbus Defence & Space.
 
Satellite Statistics:            
Total payload of 56 Ku-band transponders
Planned orbital location: 9° E
Anticipated service life: 15 years
 
Mission Profile:                  
The Proton M launch vehicle, utilizing a 5-burn Breeze M mission design, will lift off from
Pad 39 at the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, with the EUTELSAT 9B satellite
on board. The first three stages of the Proton will use a standard ascent profile
to place the orbital unit (Breeze M upper stage and the EUTELSAT 9B satellite) into a
sub-orbital trajectory. From this point in the mission, the Breeze M will perform planned
mission maneuvers to advance the orbital unit first to a circular parking orbit,
then to an intermediate orbit, followed by a transfer orbit, and finally to a
geosynchronous transfer orbit. Separation of the EUTELSAT 9B satellite is scheduled to
occur approximately 9 hours, 12 minutes after liftoff.
Target Orbit at Separation:         
Perigee: 4444
Apogee: 35696
Inclination: 12.18
 
Spacecraft Separation:    
Approximately 9 hours, 12 minutes after lift-off
 
ILS Mission Statistics:     
_ 1st ILS Proton Launch in 2016
_92nd ILS Proton Launch Overall 
_ 11th Eutelsat Satellite Launched on ILS Proton
_21st  Airbus Satellite Launched on Proton
 
Live Broadcast:                 
Live Coverage starting 17:00 ET
Launch is scheduled for 17:20 ET
Broadcast concludes no later than 17:45 ET

Satellite transmission details:

LAUNCH – January 29th, 2016
Baikonur to Washington Eutelsat 10A will begin at 16:15 Eastern/21:15GMT
Washington to Europe/Baikonur will begin at 16:15 Eastern/21:15 GMT
Broadcast starting at 17:00 Eastern/22:00 GMT
Launch is scheduled for 17:20:09 Eastern, 22:20:09 GMT
Launch Broadcast concludes at 17:45 Eastern/22:45 GMT
 
 
WASHINGTON to EUROPE and BAIKONUR (HD)  the program can be seen on the following (HD):
EBU REF 16/006386/01

EUTELSAT 10A  10 deg East TXP B3 CHANNEL 18MHZ SLOT 3D18
           UPLINK FREQ.: 14366 MHZ POL Y BY D-FRA-022  UP1
           DOWNLINK FR.: 11066 MHZ POL X
           HD 1080i 50Hz DVB-S QPSK 13.3331 Ms/s FEC 7/8,
            (MPEG2 4:2:0 21.503 Mbps)
AUDIO:1     SOUND MONO
AUDIO:2     SOUND MONO
AUDIO:3     N/A
AUDIO:4     N/A

Notes :

EU10A PARAMETERS

DVB-S2
8PSK
FEC 3/5
Pilot ON
Transmitted symbol rate: 12.361 Ms/s
 
 
Webcast can be seen at: http://eutlesat9b.imgondemand.com

Social Media: Follow us on Twitter (Eutelsat #E9B, #letslaunch) and “like” us on Facebook for mission updates.   
 
More Information:              
Live streaming will begin approximately 15 minutes before lift-off.  General mission information and launch status updates are available at www.ilslaunch.com. You can also follow us on Twitter (Eutelsat #E9B, #letslaunch) and “like” us on Facebook for mission updates.           

Media Inquiries:
Karen Monaghan, Director of Communications and Customer Relations, International Launch Services, Reston, Va.; +1-571-633-7549; mobile: +1-571-282-5195; k.monaghan@ilslaunch.com.
 

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin