Skip to content

MEDIA ADVISORY: ILS PROTON TO LAUNCH INMARSAT-5 F1

MEDIA ADVISORY:
ILS PROTON TO LAUNCH INMARSAT-5 F1

Payload: 
Inmarsat-5 F1 communications satellite
BSS-702HP Platform

Separated spacecraft mass:
6,100 kg

Launch Vehicle: 
Proton M/Breeze M
705,000 kg (1,554,000 lb), including payload
58.2 m (191ft)

Launch Date: 
December 08, 2013

Launch Time: 
18:12 Baikonur
16:12 Moscow
12:12 London
12:12 GMT
07:12 EST

Launch Site:
Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan
Launch Pad 39

Launch Customer:
Inmarsat, London, England

Satellite Manufacturer: 
Boeing Space and Intelligence Systems, California, USA

Launch Vehicle Manufacturer: 
Khrunichev State Research and Production Space Center,Russia

Launch Services Provider:  
International Launch Services, Virginia, USA

Satellite Use: 
Inmarsat Global Xpress will be the first globally available high-speed broadband network. It will be delivered over three Inmarsat-5 satellites and will offer the unique combination of global coverage from a single operator, consistent higher performance of up to 50 Mbps, and the network reliability for which Inmarsat is renowned. Based on Ka-band technology, GX will consistently deliver higher performance through more compact terminals at a lower cost than existing VSAT services, making it accessible to many more users..

Satellite Statistics: 
__89 ka-band transponders
__Anticipated service life: 15 years

Mission Profile:The Proton M launch vehicle, utilizing a 5-burn Breeze M Supersynchronous Transfer Orbit mission design, will lift off from Pad 39 at Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, with the Inmarsat-5 F1 satellite on board. The first three stages of the Proton will use a standard ascent profile to place the orbital unit (Breeze M upper stage and the Inmarsat-5 F1 satellite) into a sub-orbital trajectory. From this point in the mission, the Breeze M will per-form planned mission maneuvers to advance the orbital unit first to a circular parking orbit, then to an intermediate orbit, followed by a transfer orbit, and finally to a supersynchronous transfer orbit. Separation of the Inmarsat-5 F1 satellite is scheduled to occur approximately 15 hours, 31 minutes after liftoff.

Target Orbit at Separation:  
Perigee: 4,341km
Apogee: 65,000 km
Inclination: 26.75 degrees

Spacecraft Separation: Approximately 15 hours, 31 minutes after liftoff

ILS Mission Statistics: 
_7th ILS Proton Launch in 2013
_84th ILS Proton Launch Overall
_3rd Inmarsat Satellite Launched on Proton
_16th Boeing Satellite Launched on ILS Proton

Live Broadcast: Live Coverage starting at 06:45 EST/ 11:45 GMT
Launch is scheduled for 07:12 EST/ 12:12 GMT
Broadcast concludes no later than 07:45 EDT/ 12:45 GMT

Webcast can be seen at:
http://inmarsat5f1.imgondemand.com

And via Satellite TODAY at:
http://www.satellitetoday.com/

Satellite Test Signals:
Baikonur to Washington Eutelsat 10A will begin at 0545 Eastern/1045 GMT
Live test for Europe/ Baikonur will begin at 0615 Eastern/1115 GMT

BAIKONUR TO WASHINGTON KHRUNICHEV U/L (HD)
EUTELSAT 10A  10 deg East TXP B3 CHANNEL 12MHZ SLOT 3A12
UPLINK FREQ.: 14345 MHZ POL Y
DOWNLINK FR.: 11045 MHZ POL X
HD 1080i 50Hz DVBS2 8PSK 9.875Ms/s FEC 3/4,
P RoF 0.2 (MPEG4/H.264 420 21.503 Mbps)
AUDIO:1     SOUND MONO
AUDIO:2     SOUND MONO

IN Baikonur and Europe, THE LAUNCH BROADCAST WILL BE SEEN ON THE FOLLOWING (HD)
EUTELSAT 10A  10 deg East TXP B3 CHANNEL 12MHZ SLOT 3C12
UPLINK FREQ.: 14357 MHZ POL Y BY D-FRA-022  UP1
DOWNLINK FR.: 11057 MHZ POL X
HD 1080i 50Hz DVBS2 8PSK 9.875Ms/s FEC 3/4,
P RoF 0.2 (MPEG4/H.264 420 21.503 Mbps)
AUDIO:1     SOUND MONO
AUDIO:2     SOUND MONO

 

More Information:    
Live streaming will begin approximately 27 minutes before liftoff.  General mission information and launch status updates are available at www.ilslaunch.com. You can also follow us on Twitter and “like” us on Facebook for mission updates. 
 

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin