Skip to content

MEDIA ADVISORY: ILS PROTON TO LAUNCH INMARSAT-5 F3

Payload:
Inmarsat-5 F3 communications satellite
BSS-702HP Platform
Separated spacecraft mass: 6,070 kg

Launch Vehicle: 
Proton M/Breeze M
705,000 kg (1,554,000 lb), including payload
58.2 m (191ft)

Launch Date:
August 28, 2015

Launch Time:
17:44 Baikonur
14:44 Moscow
12:44 London
11:44 GMT
07:44 ET

Launch Site: 
Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan
Launch Pad 39

Launch Customer:
Inmarsat, London, England

Satellite Manufacturer:
Boeing Satellite Systems International, California, USA

Launch Vehicle Manufacturer:
Khrunichev State Research and Production Space Center,
Moscow, Russia

Launch Services 
Provider: 
International Launch Services, Virginia, USA

Satellite Use: 
Inmarsat Global Xpress (GX) will be the first globally available high-speed mobile
broadband  network delivered by a single operator. It will be delivered over an initial
fleet of three Inmarsat-5 satellites and will offer the unique combination of global
coverage and the network reliability for which Inmarsat is renowned. Based on Ka-band
technology, GX will consistently deliver higher performance through more compact
terminals at a lower cost than existing VSAT  services, making it accessible to many
more users.

Satellite Statistics: 
__89 ka-band transponders
__Planned orbital location: 55° W
__Anticipated service life: 15 years

Mission Profile: 
The Proton M launch vehicle, utilizing a 5-burn Breeze M Supersynchronous Transfer
Orbit mission design, will lift off from Pad 39 at Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan,
with the Inmarsat-5 F3 satellite on board. The first three stages of the Proton will use a
standard ascent profile to place the orbital unit (Breeze M upper stage and the
Inmarsat-5 F3 satellite) into a sub-orbital trajectory. From this point in the mission, the
Breeze M will per-form planned mission maneuvers to advance the orbital unit first to a
circular parking orbit, then to an intermediate orbit, followed by a transfer orbit, and
finally to a supersynchronous transfer orbit. Separation of the Inmarsat-5 F3 satellite is
scheduled to occur approximately 15 hours, 31 minutes after liftoff.

Target Orbit at Separation:   
Perigee: 4,341km
Apogee: 65,000 km
Inclination: 26.75 degrees

Spacecraft Separation: 
Approximately 15 hours, 31 minutes after lift-off

ILS Mission Statistics: 
_ 3rd ILS Proton Launch in 2015
_90 th  ILS Proton Launch Overall 
_ 5 th Inmarsat Satellite Launched on Proton
_19 th  Boeing Satellite Launched on Proton

Live Broadcast: 
Live Coverage starting at 07:30 ET/ 12:30 GMT
Launch is scheduled for 07:44 ET/ 12:44 GMT
Broadcast concludes no later than 08:00 EST/ 13:00 GMT

IN EUROPE AND LONDON, THE LAUNCH BROADCAST WILL BE SEEN ON THE FOLLOWING (HD):

EBU REF 15/053380/01
EUTELSAT 10A  10 deg East TXP B3 CHANNEL 12MHZ SLOT 3C12
            UPLINK FREQ.: 14357 MHZ POL Y BY D-FRA-022  UP1
            DOWNLINK FR.: 11057 MHZ POL X
            HD 1080i 50Hz DVB-S2 8PSK 9.875 Ms/s FEC 3/4,
             Pilot:on Roll-off 0.20 (MPEG4/H.264 4:2:0 21.503 Mbps)
AUDIO:1     SOUND MONO
AUDIO:2     SOUND MONO

Webcast can be seen at:
http://inmarsat5f3.imgondemand.com

Social Media: Follow us on Twitter (Inmarsat #I5F3) and “like” us on Facebook for mission updates. 

More Information:    
Live streaming will begin approximately 15 minutes before lift-off.  General mission information and launch status updates are available at www.ilslaunch.com. You can also follow us on Twitter and “like” us on Facebook for mission updates. 

Media Inquiries:
Karen Monaghan, Director of Communications and Customer Relations, International Launch Services, Reston, Va.; +1-571-633-7549; mobile: +1-571-282-5195; k.monaghan@ilslaunch.com.

Jonathan Sinnatt, Director of Corporate Communications, Inmarsat; +44 (0)20 7728 1935; +44 (0)788 960 5272; jonathan.sinnatt@inmarsat.com

Katie Potts, Corporate Communications Manager, Inmarsat; +44 (0)20 7728 1492; +44 (0)7843 518 245; Katie.potts@inmarsat.com

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin