Skip to content

Media Advisory | ILS Proton to Launch Intelsat 23

Reston, VA  -  October 09, 2012

Payload:
Intelsat 23 communications satellite
GEOStar-2 Platform
Separated spacecraft mass: ~2,700 kg

Launch Vehicle:                   
Proton M/Breeze M
705,000 kg (1,554,000 lbs), including payload
56.2 m (184 ft.)

Launch Date:                        
October 14, 2012

Launch Time:                       
14:37 Baikonur
04:37 EDT
01:37 PDT
08:37 GMT

Launch Site:                         
Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan
Launch Pad 24

Launch Customer:               
Intelsat S.A., Luxembourg

Satellite Manufacturer:       
Orbital Sciences Corporation, Dulles, VA

Launch Vehicle Manufacturer:
Khrunichev State Research and Production Space Center, Moscow

Launch Services Provider:                  
International Launch Services, Reston, Va

Satellite Use:                        
As part of Intelsat’s fleet replacement and expansion plans, the Intelsat 23 (IS-23) satellite is scheduled to start service at 307° East longitude in 2012, and will replace the Intelsat 707 satellite. As a C-band and Ku-band satellite, Intelsat 23 will provide enhanced capacity for enterprise, oil and gas, and data networking services.

Satellite Statistics:              
__46 C-band transponders
__30 Ku-band transponders
__Planned orbital location: 307 degrees east longitude
__Anticipated service life: More than 18 years

Mission Profile:                    
The Proton M launch vehicle, utilizing a 4-burn Breeze M mission design, will lift off from Pad 24 at Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, with the Intelsat 23 satellite on board. The first three stages of the Proton will use a standard ascent profile to place the Orbital Unit (Breeze M Upper Stage and the Intelsat 23 satellite) into a sub-orbital trajectory. From this point in the mission, the Breeze M will perform planned mission maneuvers to advance the Orbital Unit first to a circular parking orbit, then to an intermediate orbit, followed by a transfer orbit, and finally to a near geostationary orbit. Separation of the Intelsat 23 satellite is scheduled to occur approximately 9 hours and 30 minutes after liftoff.
                                                           
Target Orbit at Separation:                             
Perigee: 37,180 km
Apogee: 37,180 km
Inclination: 0.0 degrees

Spacecraft Separation:      
Approximately 9 hours and 30 minutes after liftoff

ILS Mission Statistics:        
_11th Intelsat Satellite Launched on ILS Proton
_5th Orbital Satellite Launched on ILS Proton
_6th ILS Proton Launch in 2012
_75th ILS Proton Launch Overall
_4th Geostationary Orbit Insertion Mission on an ILS Proton

Live Broadcast/Webcast:
Live Coverage starting at 04:15 EDT / 08:15 GMT.
Launch is scheduled for 04:37 EDT / 08:37 GMT.
Launch Broadcast concludes no later than 05:15 EDT / 09:15 GMT.

Webcast can be seen at:  http://intelsat23.imgondemand.com

And via Satellite TODAY: http://www.satellitetoday.com

SD test for Baikonur and Europe/Eutelsat 10A will begin at 03:45 Eastern/07:45 GMT
HD test for US/AMC-9 will begin at 03:45 Eastern
Baikonur to US SD signal starts at 03:15 Eastern/07:15 GMT

In the US, the Launch Broadcast will be seen on the following: 
AMC-9, transponder C10, channel C10A
83 degrees West
18 mhz.
Uplink Frequency – 6,116.000 Horizontal
Downlink Frequency – 3,891.000 Vertical
1080i QPSK
FEC:  3/4
Symbol rate:  13.333, DVB – S, MPEG2 HD 4:2:0

In Baikonur and Europe, the Launch Broadcast will be seen on the following:
Eutelsat 10A (EX W2A) 10 degrees East TXP
B3 Channel 6MHZ Slot 3F6
Uplink Frequency 14372 MHZ POL Y by D-FRA-022 UP1
Downlink Frequency: 11072 MHZ POL X
SD 625 16:9 50Hz DVBS2 8PSK 4.9373Ms/s FEC 3/4,
P  RoF 0.2 (11_SD MPEG2 422 10.7514 Mbps)
Audio: 1 Sound Mono
Audio: 2 Sound Mono

More Information:                
Live streaming will begin approximately 25 minutes before liftoff.  General mission information and launch status updates are available at www.ilslaunch.com. You can also follow us on Twitter and “like” us on Facebook for mission updates.

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin