Skip to content

Media Advisory: ILS Proton to Launch Satmex 8

Reston, Va - March 22, 2013

(Coordinates for viewing in Mexico updated)
 

Payload:    
Satmex 8 communications satellite
SSL 1300 Platform
Separated spacecraft mass: 5,474 kg

Launch Vehicle:    
Proton M/Breeze M
705,000 kg (1,554,000 lbs), including payload
58.2 m (191 ft)

Launch Date:    
March 27, 2013

Launch Time:    
01:06:48 Baikonur
23:06:48 Moscow (March 26)
13:06:48 Mexico City (March 26)
12:06:48 Palo Alto (March 26)
19:06:48 GMT (March 26)
15:06:48 EDT (March 26)

Launch Site:    
Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan
Launch Pad 39

Launch Customer:    
Satélites Mexicanos S.A. de C.V.(Satmex), Mexico City, Mexico

Satellite Manufacturer:    
SSL, California, USA

Launch Vehicle Manufacturer:    
Khrunichev State Research and Production Space Center,
Moscow, Russia

Launch Services Provider:
International Launch Services, Virginia, USA

Satellite Use:    
Satmex 8 is a high-power C- and Ku-band satellite that will replace Satmex 5 and will provide fixed satellite services in North, Central and South Americas. This new satellite will provide enhanced performance and capacity to the coverage area. Satmex 8 will improve the current continental and regional services for video contribution, video distribution, broadband, cellular backhaul and distance learning.

Satellite Statistics:    
__24 C-band transponders
__40 Ku-band transponders
__Planned orbital location: 116.8° west longitude
__Anticipated service life: 15 years

Mission Profile:    
The Proton M launch vehicle, utilizing a 5-burn Breeze M mission design, will lift off from Pad 39 at Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, with the Satmex 8 satellite on board. The first three stages of the Proton will use a standard ascent profile to place the orbital unit (Breeze M upper stage and the Satmex 8 satellite) into a sub-orbital trajectory. From this point in the mission, the Breeze M will perform planned mission maneuvers to advance the orbital unit first to a circular parking orbit, then to an intermediate orbit, followed by a transfer orbit, and finally to a geostationary transfer orbit. Separation of the Satmex 8 satellite is scheduled to occur approximately 9 hours, 13 minutes after liftoff.

Target Orbit at Separation:
Perigee: 6,159 km
Apogee: 35,786 km
Inclination: 18.38 degrees

Spacecraft Separation:    
Approximately 9 hours, 13 minutes after liftoff

ILS Mission Statistics:    
_1st ILS Proton Launch in 2013
_78th ILS Proton Launch Overall
_1st Satmex Satellite Launched on ILS Proton
_25th SSL Satellite Launched on ILS Proton

Live Broadcast:    
Live Coverage starting at 14:45 EDT/ 18:45 GMT
Launch is scheduled for 15:07 EDT/ 19:07 GMT
Broadcast concludes no later than 15:45 EDT/ 19:45 GMT

Webcast stream seen can be seen at:   
http://satmex8.imgondemand.com/

And via Satellite TODAY:
http://www.satellitetoday.com/

Baikonur to US Eutelsat 10A will begin at 13:45 EDT
HD test for US/AMC-9 will begin at 14:15 EDT
SD test for Mexico will begin at 14:15 EDT
 
In Baikonur and Europe, the Launch Broadcast will be seen on the following (HD):
Eutelsat 10A (EX W2A) 10 deg East TXP B4 Channel 12MHZ SLOT 4C12
Uplink Frequency: 14357 MHZ POL X BY D-FRA-022 UP1
Downlink Frequency: 11057 MHZ POL Y
HD 1080i 50Hz DVBS2 8PSK 9.875Ms/s FEC 3/4,
P RoF 0.2 (MPEG4/H.264 420 21.503 Mbps)
AUDIO: 1 SOUND MONO
AUDIO: 2 SOUND MONO

In the US, the Launch Broadcast will be seen on the following (HD):
AMC-9, transponder C10, channel C10A
83 degrees West
18 mhz.
Uplink frequency: 6,116.000 Horizontal
Downlink frequency:  3,891.000 Vertical
1080i QPSK
FEC:  3/4
Symbol rate:  13.333, DVB – S, MPEG2 HD 4:2:0

In Mexico, the Launch Broadcast will be seen on the following (SD):
SatMex 6
113 degrees West
9 MHz
Transponder 12C1(d)
Center frequency of 6151.5 MHz uplink, V
3926.5 MHz downlink, H
Symbol rate: 6.900 Msps
Modulation: QPSK
FEC: 3/4 + Reed Solomon (188/204)

More Information:          
Live streaming will begin approximately 20 minutes before liftoff. General mission information and launch status updates are available at www.ilslaunch.com. You can also follow us on Twitter and “like” us on Facebook for mission updates.    
 

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin