Skip to content

Media Advisory: ILS Proton to Launch Sirius FM-6

Reston, VA – October 24, 2013

Payload:    
Sirius FM-6 communications satellite
SSL 1300 Platform
Separated spacecraft mass: 6,003 kg (13,234 lbs)

Launch Vehicle:    
Proton M/Breeze M
705,000 kg (1,554,000 lbs), including payload
58.2 m (191 ft)

Launch Date:    
October 26, 2013

Launch Time:    
00:08:54 Baikonur
14:08:54 EDT, October 25   
11:08:54 PDT, October 25
18:08:54 GMT, October 25

Launch Site:    
Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, Launch Pad 39

Launch Customer:    
Sirius XM Radio, New York, New York

Satellite Manufacturer:    
SSL, Palo Alto, California

Launch Vehicle Manufacturer:    
Khrunichev State Research and Production Space Center,
Moscow

Launch Services Provider:
International Launch Services, Reston, Va

Satellite Use:    
Sirius FM-6 is a high-power geostationary satellite for SiriusXM, America’s largest radio broadcaster measured by revenue and one of the world’s largest pure-play audio entertainment companies. Sirius FM-6 will help with the delivery of commercial-free music, and premier sports, news, talk, entertainment and Latin programming, traffic and weather to more than 25.6 million subscribers. Sirius FM-6 will also help in the delivery of traffic and other data service information to markets across North America for vehicles with navigational systems. SiriusXM is installed in vehicles of every major automaker and available for sale at retail locations nationwide. Sirius FM-6 will ensure SiriusXM’s array of audio and data services are received by vehicles, mobile devices and home receivers and will play an important role in bolstering the continuity of service for years to come.

Satellite Statistics:    
__20 Kw end-of-life power
__R-4D, 4 SPT-100 plasma thrusters
__1 X-band uplink transponder
__1 S-band downlink transponder
__Planned orbital location: 116.15 degrees west longitude
__Anticipated service life: 15 years

Mission Profile:    
The Proton M launch vehicle, utilizing a 5-burn Breeze M mission design, will lift off from Pad 39 at Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, with the Sirius FM-6 satellite on board. The first three stages of the Proton will use a standard ascent profile to place the orbital unit (Breeze M upper stage and the Sirius FM-6 satellite) into a sub-orbital trajectory. From this point in the mission, the Breeze M will perform planned mission maneuvers to advance the orbital unit first to a circular parking orbit, then to an intermediate orbit, followed by a transfer orbit, and finally to a geostationary transfer orbit. Separation of the Sirius FM-6 satellite is scheduled to occur approximately 9 hours, 11 minutes, and 20 seconds after liftoff.

Target Orbit at Separation:    
Perigee:  4,126 km
Apogee: 35,786 km
Inclination: 23.2 degrees

Spacecraft Separation:    
Approximately 9 hours, 11 minutes after liftoff

ILS Mission Statistics:    
_6th SiriusXM Satellite Launched on ILS Proton
_27th SSL Satellite Launched on ILS Proton
_6th ILS Proton Launch in 2013
_83rd ILS Proton Launch Overall

More Information:    
Live webcast will begin approximately 25 minutes before liftoff.  General mission information and launch status updates are available at the website. You can also follow us on Twitter and “like” us on Facebook for mission updates.
    
Live Broadcast:    
Live broadcast starting: 13:45 EDT/17:45 GMT, 25 October
Launch is scheduled for 14:08:54 EDT/ 18:08:54 GMT
Launch Broadcast concludes no later than 14:45 EDT/18:45 GMT

Webcast can be seen at:
http://siriusfm6.imgondemand.com

And via Satellite TODAY at:
http://www.satellitetoday.com/

Satellite Test Signals:
HD test for US/AMC-9 will begin at 13:15 EDT
Live test for Europe/ Baikonur will begin at 13:15 EDT/17:15 GMT

In Baikonur and Europe, the Launch Broadcast will be seen on the Following (HD):
EUTELSAT 10A  10 deg East TXP B3 CHANNEL 12MHZ SLOT 3C12
UPLINK FREQ.: 14357 MHZ POL Y BY RUS-056
DOWNLINK FR.: 11057 MHZ POL X
HD 1080i 50Hz DVBS2 8PSK 9.875Ms/s FEC 3/4,
P RoF 0.2 (MPEG4/H.264 420 21.503 Mbps)
AUDIO:1     SOUND MONO
AUDIO:2     SOUND MONO
           
In the US, the Launch Broadcast will be seen on the Following (HD):
AMC-9, transponder  10C
Channel C10A
@ 83W, 18.00 MHz
U/L frequency – 6,116.000 / H
D/L frequency – 3,891.000 / V
1080i QPSK
FEC:  3/4
Symbol rate:  13.333, DVB – S, MPEG2 HD 4:2:0

Media Inquiries:
Karen Monaghan, Director of Communications and Customer Relations, International Launch Services, Reston, Va.; +1-571-633-7549; mobile: +1-571-282-5195; k.monaghan@ilslaunch.com, For more information, visit the ILS website at www.ilslaunch.com.

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin