Skip to content

Media Advisory: ILS Proton to Launch TURKSAT-4A

Reston, VA - February 07, 2014
correction posted 02-07-2014 at 1:52pm EST

Payload:                               
TURKSAT-4A communications satellite
DS2000 Platform
Separated spacecraft mass: 4,850 kg

Launch Vehicle:                 
Proton M/Breeze M
705,000 kg (1,554,000 lb), including payload
56.2 m (184ft)

Launch Date:                       
15 February 2014

Launch Time:                      
03:09:03 Baikonur
06:09:03 Tokyo
16:09:03 EST, 14 Feb
21:09:03 GMT, 14 Feb
23:09:03 Turkey, 14 Feb

Launch Site:                        
Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan
Launch Pad 24

Satellite Operator:              
TURKSAT, Turkey

Satellite Manufacturer:      
Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, Japan

Launch Vehicle Manufacturer:   
Khrunichev State Research and Production Space Center, Russia

Launch Services Provider:
International Launch Services, USA

Satellite Use:                       
TURKSAT-4A is a commercial communication satellite built by Mitsubishi Electric. The satellite will provide telecommunication and direct TV broadcasting services over a wide geographic region between west of china and east of England spanning Turkey, as well as Europe, Central Asia, the Middle East and Africa. TURKSAT-4A consists of multiple transponders with an expected on-orbit Maneuver life of 30 years. TURKSAT-4A satellite will expand the space capacity of Turkey and provide enhanced performance to its coverage areas. The satellite will provide high flexibility of switchability and connectivity among different service areas to its customers.

Satellite Statistics:             
_Mitsubishi Electric’s DS2000 platform
_36 transponders
_2084 MHz communications capacity
_Extensive coverage & connectivity over Turkey, Europe, Middle East, Asia and Africa
_Satellite Maneuver Lifetime: 30 years

Mission Profile:                   
The Proton M launch vehicle, utilizing a 5-burn Breeze M mission design, will lift off from Pad 24 at Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, with the TURKSAT-4A satellite onboard. The first three stages of the Proton will use a standard ascent profile to place the orbital unit (Breeze M upper stage and the TURKSAT-4A satellite) into a sub-orbital trajectory. From this point in the mission, the Breeze M will perform planned mission maneuvers to advance the orbital unit first to a circular parking orbit, then to an intermediate orbit, followed by a transfer orbit, and finally to a geostationary transfer orbit. Separation of the TURKSAT-4A satellite is scheduled to occur approximately 9 hours, 13 minutes after liftoff.

Target Orbit at Separation:          
Perigee: 9,673 km
Apogee: 35,786 km
Inclination: 12.7 degrees

Spacecraft Separation:     
Approximately 9 hours, 13 minutes after liftoff

ILS Mission Statistics:      
_1st ILS Proton Launch in 2014
_85th ILS Proton Launch Overall
_1st TURKSAT Satellite Launched on ILS Proton
_1st Mitsubishi Electric Satellite Launched on ILS Proton

Live Broadcast:                  
Live test signals for Europe and Baikonur beginning at 15:15 EST/20:15 GMT
Live Coverage starting at 15:45 EST/ 20:45 GMT
Launch is scheduled for 16:09:03 EST/ 21:09:03 GMT
Broadcast concludes no later than 16:45 EST/ 21:45 GMT

Webcast can be seen at:
http://turksat4a.imgondemand.com

In Baikonur and Europe, the Launch Broadcast will be seen on the following (HD):
Eurovision Network Services confirmation EBU REF 14/005851/01
Eutelsat 10A:  10 deg East TXP B3 CHANNEL 12MHZ SLOT 3G12
Uplink Frequency: 14381 MHZ POL Y BY D-FRA-022 UP1
Downlink Frequency: 11081 MHZ POL X
HD 1080i 50Hz DVBS2 8PSK 9.875Ms/s FEC 3/4,
P RoF 0.2 (MPEG4/H.264 420 21.503 Mbps)
Audio: 1 SOUND MONO
Audio: 2 SOUND MONO

More Information:               
Live streaming will begin approximately 20 minutes before liftoff.  General mission information and launch status updates are available at www.ilslaunch.com. You can also follow us on Twitter and “like” us on Facebook for mission updates. 

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin