Skip to content

Media Advisory: ILS Proton to Launch Yamal 402

Reston, VA – December 4, 2012

Payload:        
Yamal 402 communications satellite
Spacebus 4000C3 Platform
Separated spacecraft mass: 4,463 kg

Launch Vehicle:       
Proton M/Breeze M
705,000 kg (1,554,000 lbs), including payload
58.2 m (191 ft)

Launch Date:
December 8, 2012

Launch Time:           
19:13:43 Baikonur
17:13:43 Moscow
14:13:43 Cannes
13:13:43 GMT
08:13:43 EST

Launch Site: 
Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan
Launch Pad 39

Launch Customer:   
Gazprom Space Systems, Moscow, Russia

Satellite Manufacturer:       
Thales Alenia Space, Cannes, France

Launch Vehicle Manufacturer:                   
Khrunichev State Research and Production Space Center, Moscow, Russia

Launch Services Provider:
International Launch Services, Reston, VA

Satellite Use:
At an orbital location of 55° east longitude, the Yamal 402 communications satellite will provide services to Russia, CIS countries, Europe, the Middle East and Africa. The all Ku-band satellite will have 66 equivalent 36 MHz transponders, which will compose 4 fixed beams (Russian, Northern, European, Southern) and 1 steerable beam. JSC Gazprom Space Systems has ensured the development of the ground infrastructure based on ground stations and technical control means provided by Thales Alenia Space. With the addition of the Yamal 402 JSC Gazprom Space Systems will strengthen their position in the global satellite industry.

Satellite Statistics:   
__46 Ku-band transponders
__Planned orbital location: 55° east longitude
__Anticipated service life: 15 years

Mission Profile:        
The Proton M launch vehicle, utilizing a 4-burn Breeze M mission design, will lift off from Pad 39 at Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan, with the Yamal 402 satellite on board. The first three stages of the Proton will use a standard ascent profile to place the orbital unit (Breeze M upper stage and the Yamal 402 satellite) into a sub-orbital trajectory. From this point in the mission, the Breeze M will perform planned mission maneuvers to advance the orbital unit first to a circular parking orbit, then to an intermediate orbit, followed by a transfer orbit, and finally to a geostationary transfer orbit. Separation of the Yamal 402 satellite is scheduled to occur approximately 9 hours, 15 minutes after liftoff.

Target Orbit at Separation:
Perigee:  7,470 km
Apogee: 35,696 km
Inclination: 9.0 degrees

Spacecraft Separation:       
Approximately 9 hours, 15 minutes after liftoff

ILS Mission Statistics:        
_8th ILS Proton Launch in 2012
_77th ILS Proton Launch Overall
_1st Gazprom Space Systems Satellite Launched on ILS Proton
_8th Thales Alenia Space Satellite Launched on ILS Proton

Live Broadcast:
Live Coverage starting at 08:00 EST/ 13:00 GMT
Launch is scheduled for 08:13 EST/ 13:13 GMT
Broadcast concludes no later than 09:00 EST/ 14:00 GMT

SD test for Baikonur and Europe/ Eutelsat 10A will begin at 07:30 EST/ 12:30 GMT
HD test for US/AMC-9 will begin at 07:30 EST
Baikonur to US SD signal starts at 07:00EST/12:00 GMT

Russian and English webcast stream seen via:  
http://yamal402.imgondemand.com

In Baikonur and Europe, the Launch Broadcast will be seen on the Following (SD):
EUTELSAT 10A (EX W2A) 10 degrees east
TXP C05 CHANNEL 36MHZ (USPORT MUX SRVC-7 – select service 7 from the drop down menu)
Uplink Frequency: 13104.17 MHZ POL X BY RAMB1 USMUX1 W2A C05 KU UP
Downlink Frequency: 11304.17 MHZ POL Y
SD 625 16:9 50Hz DVBS2 8PSK 30.0Ms/s FEC 5/6,
P  RoF 0.2   (72_MUX MPEG2 422 72.669 Mbps)
AUDIO: 1 SOUND MONO
AUDIO: 2 SOUND MONO

In the US, the Launch Broadcast will be seen on the Following (HD):
AMC-9, transponder C10, channel C10A
83 degrees West
18 MHz.
Uplink Frequency: 6,116.000 Horizontal
Downlink Frequency: 3,891.000 Vertical
1080i QPSK
FEC:  3/4
Symbol rate:  13.333, DVB – S, MPEG2 HD 4:2:0

More Information:         
Live streaming will begin approximately 15 minutes before liftoff.  General mission information and launch status updates are available at www.ilslaunch.com. You can also follow us on Twitter and “like” us on Facebook for mission updates.
 

Connect with ILS

Facebook Twitter YouTube Linkedin