DIRECTV 5


Deprecated: wp_make_content_images_responsive is deprecated since version 5.5.0! Use wp_filter_content_tags() instead. in /www/ilslaunch_183/public/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4859

Vehicle: Proton K/ Block DM

The Satellite

  • Satellite Operator: DIRECTV, Inc.
  • Satellite Manufacturer: Space Systems/ Loral
  • Purpose: Direct-to-Home
  • Platform: SS/L 1300
  • Separated Mass: 3640 kg
  • Satellite Design Life: 12 yrs

Highlights

  • 2nd Proton Launch in 2002 for ILS
  • 4th ILS Launch in 2002
  • 23rd Commercial Proton Flight for ILS since 1995

Latest News

Proton Successfully Boosts Loral-Built DIRECTV-5; 4th Launch in 3 Months For ILS.

Launch Resources

Final Details of the Launch and Separation

  • The Proton K vehicle lifted off from Baikonur’s Pad 24 on 07 May at 11 p.m.  local time (17:00 GMT, 1 p.m. EDT).
  • Nominal separation took place on 08 May at 5:32 a.m. local time (19:32 EDT, 23:32 GMT)
  • Separation of the DIRECTV 5 satellite occured approximately 6 hours, 32 minutes after liftoff.
  • Orbit Parameters: Predicted: 6600 km x 35786 km x 17.6 deg
  • SC Separation
  • Fifth Burn
  • Fourth Burn
  • APT Jettison
  • Third Burn
  • Second Burn
  • First Burn
  • Stage Separations
  • Liftoff
  • Rollout to Pad 39
  • Breeze M Fueling
  • Begin Joint Operations
  • SC Fuel Loading
  • Breeze M Arrival
  • SC/GSE Arrival
  • Proton Arrival
  • Early Team Arrival

Contact Us!

For the latest news and information, or if you have a question, please email ILS at contactus@ilslaunch.com